2022 Webinars

Defining Inclusive Teaching Practices

Monday, August 30, 2021 at 1:00pm PT | 2:00m MT | 3:00 pm CT | 4:00pm ET

Presenters: Melissa M. Haswell, Associate Dean of Science and Mathematics Division, Delta College; Iris Capdevila, EPFL; Sean Walker, Associate Dean, Natural Sciences and Mathematics, Professor of Biological Science, California State University Fullerton; and Martina Rosenberg, Director of Teaching and Learning Assessment, Center for Excellence in Teaching & Learning, University of Connecticut

Inclusive refers to any practice dedicated to improving diversity, equity, inclusion, and/or social justice (DEIJ) in higher education. Are you interested in learning more about defining specific inclusive teaching practices and understanding how you can incorporate, or are incorporating, these practices into your own classes? Join us for a discussion on Thursday, May 12, 2022. This will be the first in a series.


The Politics of Leading Change Informal Discussion

Monday, August 30, 2021 at 1:00pm PT | 2:00m MT | 3:00 pm CT | 4:00pm ET

Presenters: Madhura Kulkarni, Northern Kentucky University and Gita Bangera, Bellevue Community College

As change leaders, we often come up against challenges we call "politics". This informal discussion follows a panel discussion with change leaders from across the country on April 19. We recommend that participants also take part in that discussion and review the Susan Elrod video on leadership moves below before participating in this informal discussion, but it is not required. (Registering for either event will give you access to both.) If you are unable to attend the live panel discussion, a recording will be posted on the panel discussion page. This informal discussion will allow space for ASCN members and guests to discuss our own experiences with the politics of leading change in small groups.


The Politics of Leading Change Panel Discussion

Tuesday, April 19, 2022 at 11:00am PT | 12:00pm MT | 1:00 pm CT | 2:00pm ET

Presenters: Ande Durojaiye, Vice Provost and Dean of Miami University Regionals, College of Liberal Arts and Applied Science; David Craig, Leadership Team of Effective Practices for Physics Programs & Associate Professor of Physics, Oregon State University; Susan Singer, Provost & Professor of Biology, Rollins College; and Gabriela Weaver, Assistant Dean for Student Success Analytics & Professor of Chemistry, Univ. of Massachusetts –Amherst

As change leaders, we often come up against challenges we call "politics". In this panel discussion, four leaders in a variety of academic positions across the country will break open the black box of how they approach political issues. This panel discussion is aimed a change leaders of all types in academia. We welcome questions from the audience submitted during registration and will plan the panel discussion accordingly. We also welcome participants to join us for the informal discussion that follows this panel discussion on April 29.


Departmental Action Leadership Institutes (DALIs): A scalable model for supporting departmental change efforts

Thursday, February 24, 2022 at 1:00pm PT | 2:00pm MT | 3:00 pm CT | 4:00pm ET

Presenters: Joel C. Corbo, University of Colorado Boulder and David A. Craig, Oregon State University

How can individual departments gain expertise in leading change locally? We are piloting Departmental Action Leadership Institutes (DALIs), which provide intensive support for departments in implementing changes to their undergraduate programs. DALIs are designed to scale this intensive support to the national level; the same model could be used to support multiple departments and programs at a single institution as they engage in change efforts. To accomplish this scaling, two change leaders from each of five departments join the DALI. These change leaders are charged with leading cross-constituency teams in their departments to engage in a change effort, following the Departmental Action Team (DAT) model. Two cohorts of five departments each are currently participating in a DALI, the first of which launched in January 2021. Each DALI begins with a virtual kickoff workshop followed by twice monthly meetings and the opportunity for individual consultations with the DALI facilitators. These activities are designed to help the DALI participants engage in a change effort, support a high-functioning team, interface with external stakeholders, and develop change agency. In this presentation, we will describe the goals and structure of the pilot DALI, present some initial feedback from our participants, and provide opportunities for the audience to reflect on how this model might be useful at their institutions.


      Next Page »