Equity and care in departmental teaching evaluations: A Guided Discussion with Maha Bali

Friday, December 16, 2022

8:00 - 9:15 am PT | 9:00 - 10:15 am MT | 10:00 - 11:15 am CT | 11:00 am - 12:15 pm ET (75 min)

Presenters: Maha Bali, The American University in Cairo

Registration deadline is Wednesday, December 14, 2022.

Register now »

Jump down to:
Resources, including presentation slides

Abstract

We will be engaging in an interactive guided discussion on how instructors can incorporate equity and care into their teaching. How do you assess the success of this change, and how might this change influence the way that departments evaluate teaching, and the culture around what constitutes a good learning environment?

Audience

This webinar is designed for department chairs, faculty leaders, curious faculty, experienced faculty, and Center for Teaching and Learning staff, Institutional Administrators, but is open to anyone interested.

Goals

By the end of the session, attendees will be able to reflect on equity and care in individual and department teaching practices.

Logistics

Registration deadline: Wednesday, December 14, 2022

Register now »

Time - 8 am PT | 9 am MT | 10 am CT | 11 am ET
Duration - 75 minutes
Format - Online web presentation via Zoom web meeting software with questions and discussion. Go to the webinar technology page for more information on using Zoom. Detailed instructions for joining the webinar will be emailed to registered participants one day prior to the webinar.
Preparation - There is no advance preparation required for this webinar.

Please email Bradlee Wahid Cotton (bcotton@carleton.edu) if you have any technical questions about this event.

Presenters

Maha Bali, The American University in Cairo

Maha Bali is Professor of Practice at the Center for Learning and Teaching at the American University in Cairo. She has a PhD in Education from the University of Sheffield, UK. She is co-founder of virtuallyconnecting.org (a grassroots movement that challenges academic gatekeeping at conferences) and co-facilitator of Equity Unbound (an equity-focused, open, connected intercultural learning curriculum, which has also branched into academic community activities Continuity with Care, Socially Just Academia, a collaboration with OneHE: Community-building Resources and MYFest, an innovative 3-month professional learning journey. She writes and speaks frequently about social justice, critical pedagogy, and open and online education. She blogs regularly at http://blog.mahabali.me and tweets @bali_maha



Resources


  •  

      Next Page »