Webinars

Below is a list of current and previous ASCN webinars and short courses. For webinars that have already occurred, you can view the webinar recording and download presentation slides by visiting the webinar event page. See the webinar technology page for more information on connecting to the webinar and interacting with hosts and participants during the event.

Previous webinars: 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017

Have an idea for a webinar? Let us know

Upcoming Webinars

Check back for more webinar offerings soon.

Short Courses

Short courses are combinations of webinars and related ASCN resources on systemic change topics of interest.

Go to /ASCN/webinars/short_courses/collab_for_change.html

Collaboration for Change: Engaging stakeholders and working together on common goals

The webinars and resources in this short course will help those leading change within departments and institutions think about frameworks for change and collective impact, engagement of people across an institution or within a department.

Previous Webinars

2021 Webinars

Evaluation of effective and inclusive teaching: How can teaching and learning center professionals be involved in change?

Monday, August 30, 2021 at 1:00pm PT | 2:00m MT | 3:00 pm CT | 4:00pm ET

Presenters: Susan Elrod, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater, ASCN Working Group 3 (Change Leaders), Working Group 5 (Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, & Social Justice), and Working Group 6 (Aligning Incentives with Systemic Change)

Teaching and learning centers and professionals may not be involved in actual evaluation of teaching, but they are often a part of the campus conversation about teaching evaluation. This webinar is geared to professionals in these positions who want to know how they can be an agent of change for more meaningful, inclusive, and effective evaluation of teaching -- beyond traditional student course evaluations -- which has greater potential to enhance teaching excellence at their campus.


Building Structural Equity: National Networks' Role in Promoting Justice

Tuesday, May 11, 2021 at 12:00pm PT / 1:00pm MT / 2:00pmCT / 3:00pm ET

Panelists: Dr. Shirley Malcom, Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) STEMM Equity Achievement (SEA) Change; Dr. Stanley Lo, Society for the Advancement of Biology Education Research (SABER); Dr. Elizabeth Holcombe, Pullias Center for Higher Education, University of Southern California; and Dr. Tabbye Chavous, National Center for Institutional Diversity (NCID), University of Michigan

ASCN and SEISMIC are co-hosting a panel on "Building Structural Equity: National Networks' Role in Promoting Justice." The purpose of this panel is to provide an opportunity for SEISMIC and ASCN members, particularly those in leadership roles, to learn from other national networks about how organizations themselves can promote justice. Panelists will be discussing, "What is the role of national organizations like ours in promoting equity and justice in higher education?"


Impactful Change Management: Differentiated Engagement

Tuesday, April 13, 2021 at 9:00 am PT | 10:00 am MT | 11:00 am CT | 12:00 pm ET

Presenters: Kip Zwolenski, Inclusive Excellence Coordinator, Sagit Valley College, Gretchen Robertson, Dean of Instruction, Sagit Valley College

In many ways, communities of higher education reflect the communities in which they are situated. Equity and racial justice initiatives must take into consideration the wide range of ideology, knowledge, and experience of educators to be successful. Practically, this means offering multiple, contextualized, differentiated opportunities of engagement that meet educators where they are. The presenters will share their journey of utilizing Bensimon's framework of First Generation Equity Practitioners to engage the whole campus community. There will be facilitated discussion on strategies to use on your own campus, as well as how ASCN can support this work.


Facilitating Change Through the Departmental Action Team (DAT) Model

Tuesday, March 30, 2021 at 9:00 am PT | 10:00 am MT | 11:00 am CT | 12:00 pm ET (Duration - 90 minutes)

Presenters: Joel Corbo, Center for STEM Learning, University of Colorado Boulder, Courtney Ngai, The Institute for Learning and Teaching, Colorado State University, Gina Quan, Department of Physics and Astronomy, San José State University, Sarah Wise, Center for STEM Learning, University of Colorado Boulder

Join us for a conversation about the Departmental Action Team (DAT) Model, which utilizes facilitated teams to promote positive and sustained change in higher education. The presenters have co-facilitated 10+ DATs and are investigating the short and long-term impacts of the DAT model.

In this webinar, they will introduce the DAT model and its guiding principles for change. Participants will leave the webinar with a foundational understanding of the DAT model, how to apply the DAT model to new or ongoing change initiatives, and types of changes DATs can catalyze. Participants will discuss ideas about how the DAT model may work with national-scale change initiatives. Throughout the webinar, the presenters will point participants to resources that have been developed to support change, including their book Facilitating Change in Higher Education: The Departmental Action Team Model and a free toolkit of materials available at dat-project.org.

2020 Webinars

Designing Educational Innovations for Sustained Adoption: Writing proposals and developing innovations that have broader impact

Thursday, November 5, 2020 at 11:00 am PT | 12:00 pm MT | 1:00 pm CT | 2:00 pm ET

Presenters: Raina Khatri (Florida International University), and Charles Henderson (Western Michigan University)


Enabling Change Agents with Systems Thinking Tools

Thursday, October 22, 2020 at 9:00 am PT | 10:00 am MT | 11:00 am CT | 12:00 pm ET

Presenters: Bill Davis (Washington State University,) Pam Pape-Lindstrom (Harford Community College), and Gary Reiness (Lewis and Clark University)


National Academies Graphical Notes Circle Transforming the Conversation about Teaching Evaluation in Higher Education: Thoughts from the National Academies' Roundtable on Systemic Change in Undergraduate STEM Education

May 19, 2020 at 11:00 am PT | 12:00 pm MT | 1:00 pm CT | 2:00 pm ET

Presenters: Andrea Greenhoot (University of Kansas), Ann Austin (Michigan State University), Noah Finkelstein (University of Colorado Boulder), and Kerry Brenner (National Academies)


Small group discussion circle The 7 Habits of Highly Effective STEM Department Chairs

April 22, 2020 at 1:00 pm PT | 2:00 pm MT | 3:00 pm CT | 4:00 pm ET

Presenters: Bob Hilborn (American Association of Physics Teachers) and David Craig (Oregon State University)


Drinking water circle Leading Change with Design Thinking: A collaborative model of course transform using approaches for solving wicked problems

February 12, 2020 at 10:00 am PT | 11:00 am MT | 12:00 pm CT | 1:00 pm ET

Presenters: Nick Swayne, Bernie Kaussler, Patrice Ludwig, and Sean McCarthy (James Madison University)

2019 Webinars

National Academies Graphical Notes Circle Envisioning the Future of STEM Education: The National Academies' Roundtable on Systemic Change in Undergraduate STEM Education

December 4, 2019 at 1:00 pm PT | 2:00 pm MT | 3:00 pm CT | 4:00 pm ET

Presenters: Ann E. Austin (Michigan State University), Noah Finkelstein (University of Colorado Boulder), and Kerry Brenner (The National Academies)


Group work photo circle Collaborative Dynamics in Collective STEM Reform Initiatives

October 24, 2019 at 10:00 am PT | 11:00 am MT | 1:00 pm CT | 2:00 pm ET

Presenter: Lucas B. Hill (University of Wisconsin-Madison)


participants instructor workshop circle Spreading Evidence-Based Instructional Practices: Leveraging Peer Observation for Institutional Change

May 30, 2019 at 9:00 am PT | 10:00 am MT | 11:00 am CT | 12:00 pm ET

Presenters: Stephanie Salomone, Heather Dillon, Eric Anctil, Tara Presholdt, and Valerie Peterson (University of Portland)


Engineering students circle Transforming Engineering Education Through the NSF Revolutionizing Engineering Departments (RED) Program

May 16, 2019 at 10:00 am PT | 11:00 am MT | 12:00 pm CT | 1:00 pm ET

Presenter: Julie Martin (National Science Foundation)


SEI_handbook_circle Embedding education specialists within departments to catalyze change

February 28, 2019 at 10:00 am PT | 11:00 am MT | 12:00 pm CT | 1:00 pm ET

Presenters: Warren Code (University of British Columbia) and Stephanie Chasteen (University of Colorado Boulder)

2018 Webinars

tanner department photo circle Collectively Improving Our Teaching: A department-wide professional development program resulting in widespread change

November 7, 2018 at 9:00 am PT | 10:00 am MT | 11:00 am CT | 12:00 pm ET

Presenter: Kimberly Tanner (San Francisco State University)


leadership opps circle Using an Evidence-Based Approach to Develop a Culture of Shared Leadership for Change

October 29, 2018 at 11:00 am PT | 12:00 pm MT | 1:00 pm CT | 2:00 pm ET

Presenters: Susan Elrod (University of Wisconsin - Whitewater), Judith Ramalay (Portland State University)


MACH workshop 1113 circle Change Leadership 101

September 26, 2018 at 9:00 am PT | 10:00 am MT | 11:00 am CT | 12:00 pm ET

Presenters: Julia M. Williams, Eva Andrijcic, and Sriram Mohan (Rose Hulman Institute of Technology)


toolbox_circle The Change Maker's Toolkit: Preparing Faculty and Administrators to Make Academic Change Happen

May 16th, 2018 at 9:30 am PT |10:30 am MT | 11:30 am CT | 12:30 pm ET

Presenter: Julia M. Williams, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology


student tech stem circle Creating a Unified Community of Support: Increasing Success for Underrepresented Students in STEM

March 28th, 2018 at 9:30 am PT |10:30 am MT | 11:30 am CT | 12:30 pm ET

Presenter: Elizabeth Holcombe, Pullias Center for Higher Education, University of Southern California


Handshake Circle Developing and Sustaining Effective Partnerships to Advance Change in STEM Higher Education

February 21st, 2018 at 9:30am PT |10:30 am MT | 11:30 am CT | 12:30 pm ET

Presenters: Marilyn Amey, Michigan State University; Sarah Rodriguez, Iowa State University; and Lucas Hill, University of Wisconsin - Madison


fac discussion circle Faculty Adoption of STEM Education Reforms: From Constraint to Possibility

January 17th, 2018 at 9:30am PT |10:30 am MT | 11:30 am CT | 12:30 pm ET

Presenter: Cassandra Volpe Horii, Founding Director, Center for Teaching, Learning, and Outreach at the California Institute of Technology; President-Elect of the POD Network in Higher Education

2017 Webinars

Group work circle Launching and Leading Change in STEM Education

October 27th, 2017 at 9:30 am PT | 10:30 am MT | 11:30 am CT | 12:30 pm ET

Presenter: Judith Ramaley, Portland State University



      Next Page »