The PULSE Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Rubric: A Resource for Departmental Self-Assessment

Tuesday, November 15, 2022

9:30 - 10:30 am PT | 10:30 - 11:30 am MT | 11:30 am - 12:30 pm CT | 12:30 - 1:30 pm ET

Presenters: Kate Marley, Doane College; and Pamela Pape-Lindstrom; Harford Community College

Registration deadline is Sunday, November 13, 2022.

Register now »

Jump down to:
Resources, including presentation slides

Abstract

The Partnership for Undergraduate Life Sciences Education (PULSE) is a community of life sciences leaders committed to educational practices that best prepare undergraduate students to tackle 21st-century challenges. Recent events of violence, injustice, systemic racism, and the national movement to rethink how colleges and universities could address such inequities, has motivated PULSE to create the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Rubric to complement the original five rubrics (Brancaccio-Taras et al. 2016). The DEI Rubric was created for STEM departments' self-assessment of DEI efforts via: review of their practices and pedagogies; initiation of dialogue about departmental and institutional equity gaps; and determination of a departmental consensus score for each rubric criterion. The DEI rubric is also applicable to non-STEM departments. In this session, presenters will describe the use of the DEI Rubric and participants will engage with the rubric and discuss how to enhance DEI work in their department.

Audience

This webinar is designed for STEM faculty, disciplinary, and institutional change makers (e.g., department chairs, vice provosts, administrators, faculty learning community facilitators, disciplinary association members and leaders). It may have particular interest for those considering and implementing change to address issues of diversity, equity and inclusion, especially at a departmental level.

Goals

By the end of the session, attendees will be able to:

  1. Understand how to effectively use the DEI Rubric to identify inequities in the STEM education of Persons Excluded due to Ethnicity or Race (PEERs).
  2. Develop strategies to begin departmental discussions about diversity, equity, and inclusion 
  3. Start outlining ing plans to enhance DEI work within a department, institution, and across multiple institution types
  4. Share perspectives about the usefulness of the PULSE DEI Rubric to engage institutions and advance DEI work.
     

Logistics

Registration deadline: Sunday, November 13, 2022

Register now »

Time - 9:30 am PT | 10:30 am MT | 11:30 am CT | 12:30 pm ET
Duration - 60 minutes
Format - Online web presentation via Zoom web meeting software with questions and discussion. Go to the webinar technology page for more information on using Zoom. Detailed instructions for joining the webinar will be emailed to registered participants one day prior to the webinar.
Preparation - There is no advance preparation required for this webinar.

Please email Bradlee Cotton (bcotton@carleton.edu) if you have any technical questions about this event.

Presenters

Kate Marley
Doane College
Kate Marley, Doane College

Kate Marley is a professor of Biology and chair of the STEM division at Doane University in Crete, Nebraska. She is also a co-director for the university's Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning (CETL) supporting faculty professional development across the university. She is an assistant director for a National Endowment for the Humanities grant focused on integrating humanities learning and coursework into the professional development of students in the sciences and social sciences. Kate has served as a fellow with the Partnership for Undergraduate Life Sciences Education (PULSE) where she has worked to support life science departments across the country transforming their programs to be more student centered, inclusive and effective at fostering success of all students. 


Pamela Pape-Lindstrom
Harford Community College
Pamela Pape-Lindstrom, Harford Community College

 



Resources


      Next Page »