Short Course: The Politics of Leading Change

As change leaders, we often come up against challenges we call "politics". This series examines the politics of leading change through three types of engagements: 1) a recording of Susan Elrod's (Chancellor, Indiana University-South Bend) presentation on leadership moves, which starts to de-mystify actions change leaders take that sometimes fall under the "politics" umbrella, 2) a panel discussion with change leaders working in different contexts, and 3) an informal discussion with WG 3 leaders about the ideas discussed in the recording and panel discussion. You may choose to participate in all three engagements or any combination thereof.

In these events, we hope to facilitate a discussion of change politics-related themes, including:

  1. Power and authority – or leading up, down and sideways in the structures and hierarchies present at institutions of higher education
  2. Working with factions or unions – or developing and leveraging solidarity
  3. How to deal with difficult interpersonal dynamics on a group level, especially when there are valid concerns and good faith efforts on all sides
  4. How to determine when to push back vs. listen quietly
  5. How to balance inclusiveness vs. urgency for change in decision-making

Register Now »

Recording

On your own time

To prepare for the discussions, please watch Susan Elrod's (Chancellor, Indiana University-South Bend) presentation on leadership moves, which starts to de-mystify actions change leaders take that sometimes fall under the "politics" umbrella [17:27- 43:54].

Recording

Panel Discussion

April 19, 2022

11 am PT | 12 pm MT | 1 pm CT | 2 pm ET

Panelists

Ande Durojaiye, Miami University Regionals, College of Liberal Arts and Applied Science
David Craig, Leadership Team of Effective Practices for Physics Programs & Associate Professor of Physics, Oregon State University
Susan Singer, Provost & Professor of Biology, Rollins College
Gabriela Weaver, Assistant Dean for Student Success Analytics & Professor of Chemistry, Univ. of Massachusetts –Amherst

Panel Discussion Page

Informal Discussion

April 29, 2022

11 am PT | 12 pm MT | 1 pm CT | 2 pm ET

Informal Discussion Page

Facilitators

Madhura Kulkarni, Northern Kentucky University
Gita Bangera, Bellevue Community College


« Previous Page