2021 Webinars

Impactful Change Management: Differentiated Engagement

Tuesday, April 13, 2021 at 9:00 am PT | 10:00 am MT | 11:00 am CT | 12:00 pm ET

Presenters: Kip Zwolenski, Inclusive Excellence Coordinator, Sagit Valley College, Gretchen Robertson, Dean of Instruction, Sagit Valley College

In many ways, communities of higher education reflect the communities in which they are situated. Equity and racial justice initiatives must take into consideration the wide range of ideology, knowledge, and experience of educators to be successful. Practically, this means offering multiple, contextualized, differentiated opportunities of engagement that meet educators where they are. The presenters will share their journey of utilizing Bensimon's framework of First Generation Equity Practitioners to engage the whole campus community. There will be facilitated discussion on strategies to use on your own campus, as well as how ASCN can support this work.


Facilitating Change Through the Departmental Action Team (DAT) Model

Tuesday, March 30, 2021 at 9:00 am PT | 10:00 am MT | 11:00 am CT | 12:00 pm ET (Duration - 90 minutes)

Presenters: Joel Corbo, Center for STEM Learning, University of Colorado Boulder, Courtney Ngai, The Institute for Learning and Teaching, Colorado State University, Gina Quan, Department of Physics and Astronomy, San José State University, Sarah Wise, Center for STEM Learning, University of Colorado Boulder

Join us for a conversation about the Departmental Action Team (DAT) Model, which utilizes facilitated teams to promote positive and sustained change in higher education. The presenters have co-facilitated 10+ DATs and are investigating the short and long-term impacts of the DAT model.

In this webinar, they will introduce the DAT model and its guiding principles for change. Participants will leave the webinar with a foundational understanding of the DAT model, how to apply the DAT model to new or ongoing change initiatives, and types of changes DATs can catalyze. Participants will discuss ideas about how the DAT model may work with national-scale change initiatives. Throughout the webinar, the presenters will point participants to resources that have been developed to support change, including their book Facilitating Change in Higher Education: The Departmental Action Team Model and a free toolkit of materials available at dat-project.org.


      Next Page »