Building Structural Equity: National Networks' Role in Promoting Justice

Panel Discussion hosted by SEISMIC and ASCN

Tuesday, May 11, 2021 | 12:00-1:30pm PT / 1:00-2:30pm MT / 2:00-3:30pmCT / 3:00-4:30pm ET

Register » Registration deadline: May 9, 11:59pm ET

ASCN and SEISMIC are co-hosting a panel on "Building Structural Equity: National Networks' Role in Promoting Justice." The purpose of this panel is to provide an opportunity for SEISMIC and ASCN members, particularly those in leadership roles, to learn from other national networks about how organizations themselves can promote justice. Panelists will be discussing, "What is the role of national organizations like ours in promoting equity and justice in higher education?"

We will be joined by Dr. Shirley Malcom from the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) STEMM Equity Achievement (SEA) Change, Dr. Stanley Lo from the Society for the Advancement of Biology Education Research (SABER), and Dr. Tabbye Chavous from the National Center for Institutional Diversity (NCID). Following the panel discussion, we will organize various working sessions for SEISMIC and ASCN to incorporate the knowledge gained into the work of our respective organizations.

Panelists

Dr. Tabbye Chavous
Director, National Center for Institutional Diversity (NCID)
Dr. Stanley Lo
President-Elect, Society for the Advancement of Biology Education Research (SABER)
Dr. Shirley Malcom
Director, Education and Human Resources Programs (EHR)
American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)


Logistics

Register » Registration deadline: May 9

Date: Tuesday, May 11, 2021
Time: 12:00-1:30pm PT / 1:00-2:30pm MT / 2:00-3:30pmCT / 3:00-4:30pm ET
Duration: 90 minutes
Connecting: Before each event, you will receive a Zoom link, calendar invite, and more details. Please watch your email in the coming weeks.


      Next Page »