2019 Webinars

participants instructor workshop circle Spreading Evidence-Based Instructional Practices: Leveraging Peer Observation for Institutional Change

May 30, 2019 at 9:00 am PT | 10:00 am MT | 11:00 am CT | 12:00 pm ET

Presenters: Stephanie Salomone, Heather Dillon, Eric Anctil, Tara Presholdt, and Valerie Peterson (University of Portland)

Evidence that active, student-centered learning in STEM classrooms contributes to desired student outcomes has now accumulated to compelling levels. However, promoting and supporting widespread use of new practices is challenging, even amongst practitioners open to such changes. One contributing factor is the fact that a majority of instructional change efforts focus on only a small portion of the instructional system, while true transformation requires systemic reform. Successful institutional change initiatives have been shown to involve common features: they involve ongoing interventions, align with individuals' beliefs, and work within the existing landscape of institutional values. In this webinar, participants will be introduced to a new theory to support instructional change in undergraduate mathematics that incorporates a new dimension – instructor peer observation – in an existing model for institutional change (the CACAO model), thereby aligning with evidence regarding what supports effective change. An exemplar will be given to illustrate how this theory might be realized in practice.

Registration is closed.


Engineering students circle Transforming Engineering Education Through the NSF Revolutionizing Engineering Departments (RED) Program

May 16, 2019 at 10:00 am PT | 11:00 am MT | 12:00 pm CT | 1:00 pm ET

Presenter: Julie Martin (National Science Foundation)

The National Science Foundation's Revolutionizing Engineering Departments (RED) program currently funds 19 projects that are designing revolutionary new approaches to engineering and computer science education, ranging from changing the canon of engineering to fundamentally altering the way courses are structured to creating new departmental structures and educational collaborations with industry. A common thread across these projects is a focus on organizational and cultural change within the departments, involving students, faculty, staff, and industry in rethinking what it means to provide an engineering program. Beginning with the FY19 solicitation, too catalyze revolutionary approaches, while expanding the reach of those that have proved efficacious in particular contexts, the RED program will support two tracks: RED Innovation and RED Adaptation and Implementation (RED-A&I). RED Innovation projects will develop new, revolutionary approaches and change strategies that enable the transformation of undergraduate engineering education. RED Adaptation and Implementation projects will adapt and implement evidence-based organizational change strategies and actions to the local context, which helps propagate this transformation of undergraduate engineering education. Projects in both tracks will include consideration of the cultural, organizational, structural, and pedagogical changes needed to transform the department to one in which students are engaged, develop their technical and professional skills, and establish identities as professional engineers. The focus of projects in both tracks is on the department's disciplinary courses and program. During this webinar, program director Dr. Julie Martin will introduce the RED program and its projects and reflect on the impact RED is having on engineering and computer science education.

Registration is closed.


SEI_handbook_circle Embedding education specialists within departments to catalyze change

February 28, 2019 at 10:00 am PT | 11:00 am MT | 12:00 pm CT | 1:00 pm ET

Presenters: Warren Code (University of British Columbia) and Stephanie Chasteen (University of Colorado Boulder)

Join authors Stephanie Chasteen and Warren Code as they discuss the messages from their new (free, open-source) Science Education Initiative Handbook on how to effectively use discipline-based education specialists to facilitate change within departments. We will discuss who makes a good educational expert, what their role can be within a department, how to train and support them, and engaging faculty and departments in change.

Registration is closed.


      Next Page »