Professional Development Opportunities

Use the listing below to browse through ongoing professional development opportunities. These pages will contain information about each opportunity as well as a link to a website with more information.


Help

Results 1 - 10 of 37 matches

Co-Creating Systemic Change of Instructor Practices for Better Student Wellbeing and Academic Outcomes
Sep 19 2023 Join this session with the Action Network for Equitable Wellbeing for an interactive discussion that will briefly highlight key insights and explore synergies and potential collaboration between ANEW and ASCN.

Event Format: Webinar
Target Audience: Post-doctoral Fellows, College/University Staff, Graduate Students, Tenured/Tenure-track Faculty, Teaching/Learning Assistants, Institution Administration, Non-tenure Track Faculty

Empowering STEM departments to enact change through the PULSE Ambassadors Program
Sep 27 2022 The PULSE Ambassadors Program is designed to inspire department-level transformation in STEM education through a two-day workshop with department faculty and follow-up support activities. A team of trained facilitators guides the department to build a shared vision for transformed undergraduate education by increasing ownership and collaboration in the visioning process. Rooted in biology-education reform efforts, the program supports departments across STEM disciplines and institution types as they undertake the challenge of providing equitable access to STEM education for all students. Participants in this session will learn about the goals, structure, and outcomes of the PULSE Ambassadors Program.

Event Format: Webinar

Embedding education specialists within departments to catalyze change
Feb 28 2019 Join authors Stephanie Chasteen and Warren Code as they discuss the messages from their new (free, open-source) Science Education Initiative Handbook on how to effectively use discipline-based education specialists to facilitate change within departments. We will discuss who makes a good educational expert, what their role can be within a department, how to train and support them, and engaging faculty and departments in change.

Event Format: Webinar
Target Audience: Institution Administration, Tenured/Tenure-track Faculty, Non-tenure Track Faculty, College/University Staff
Program Components: Institutional Systems:Evaluating Teaching, Degree Program Development, Personnel/Hiring

Defining Inclusive Teaching Practices
May 12 2022 This event is part of a series. More information about future events is coming soon... Thursday, May 12, 2022 9 am PT | 10 am MT | 11 am CT | 12 pm ET Presenters: Melissa M. Haswell, Associate Dean of Science and ...

Event Format: Discussion

The Politics of Leading Change Panel Discussion
Apr 19 2022 As change leaders, we often come up against challenges we call "politics". This series examines the politics of leading change through three types of engagements: 1) a recording of Susan Elrod's (Chancellor, Indiana University-South Bend) presentation on leadership moves, which starts to de-mystify actions change leaders take that sometimes fall under the "politics" umbrella [17:27- 43:54], 2) a panel discussion with change leaders working in different contexts, and 3) an informal discussion with WG 3 leaders about the ideas discussed in the recording and panel discussion. The panelists are Ande Durojaiye (Miami University Regionals, College of Liberal Arts and Applied Science), David Craig (Leadership Team of Effective Practices for Physics Programs & Associate Professor of Physics, Oregon State University), Susan Singer (Provost & Professor of Biology, Rollins College), and Gabriela Weaver (Assistant Dean for Student Success Analytics & Professor of Chemistry, Univ. of Massachusetts –Amherst). You may choose to participate in all three engagements or any combination thereof.

Event Format: Webinar

Aligning Faculty Incentives with Systemic Change Working Group Monthly Meeting
Nov 27 2023 4th Monday | 10:00-11:00am PT / 11:00am-12:00pm MT / 12:00-1:00pm CT / 1:00-2:00pm ET To access working group meetings: Make sure you are logged into your account on the ASCN website. At the time of the meeting, ...

Event Format: Meeting

Equity and care in departmental teaching evaluations: A Guided Discussion with Maha Bali
Dec 16 2022 We will be engaging in an interactive guided discussion on how instructors can incorporate equity as care into their teaching. How do you measure the success of this change, and how might this change influence the way that departments evaluate teaching?

Event Format: Webinar, Discussion

The PULSE Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Rubric: A Resource for Departmental Self-Assessment
Nov 15 2022 The Partnership for Undergraduate Life Sciences Education (PULSE) is a community of life sciences leaders committed to educational practices that best prepare undergraduate students to tackle 21st-century challenges. Recent events of violence, injustice, systemic racism, and the national movement to rethink how colleges and universities could address such inequities, has motivated PULSE to create the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Rubric to complement the original five rubrics (Brancaccio-Taras et al. 2016). The DEI Rubric was created for STEM departments' self-assessment of DEI efforts via: review of their practices and pedagogies; initiation of dialogue about departmental and institutional equity gaps; and determination of a departmental consensus score for each rubric criterion. The DEI rubric is also applicable to non-STEM departments. In this session, presenters will describe the use of the DEI Rubric and participants will engage with the rubric and discuss how to enhance DEI work in their department.

Event Format: Webinar

ASCN Community Welcome Call
Sep 27 2023 The ASCN Hub Members (Charles Henderson, Kadian Callahan, Andrea Beach, and Casey Wright), will welcome new and interested members into the ASCN community. We will begin with a brief network overview presentation and then offer time for new, new(ish), and interested network members to chat in smaller groups with the ASCN Hub about their interests and how the network can support them.

Event Format: Webinar
Target Audience: College/University Staff, Post-doctoral Fellows, Tenured/Tenure-track Faculty, Graduate Students, Institution Administration, Non-tenure Track Faculty

Financial Alignment with Inclusive Teaching Effectiveness (FAITE) Working Group Monthly Meeting
Nov 27 2023 4th Monday of each month | 1:00-2:00pm PT / 2:00pm-3:00pm MT / 3:00-4:00pm CT / 4:00-5:00pm ET All ASCN members are welcome to attend the Costs, Benefits, and Impacts monthly meeting to discuss the 2022 year. No ...

Event Format: Meeting