Presentations

During each session, 4 presentations will be conducted concurrently. All presentations are 25 minutes. For details on each presentation, see the Session webpage.

Jump to: Day 1 | Day 2 | Day 3 View the full program »

Day 1 - Wednesday, June 9 - Enacting Transformation

Session I (10:35 am PT | 11:35 am MT | 12:35 pm CT | 1:35 pm ET)

  • A Systematic Review of Change Theory in STEM Higher Educational Change efforts
  • Lessons Learned: Successes and Challenges of Implementing a Systems Model for Improving Student Success & Student Retention
  • Getting Beyond the Flawed Metrics of Student Evaluation Surveys
  • An Instructional-Teams Project for Supporting Instructional Reform

Session II (11:30 am PT | 12:30 pm MT | 1:30 pm CT | 2:30 pm ET)

  • Continuous Improvement and Change Leadership at the Urban University
  • The Enlightenment Series: Catalyzing Change via Courageous Conversations to Address Racism and Anti-Blackness and Promote Inclusive Excellence at the University of South Florida
  • It Depends How You Slice It: How Measurement and Analysis Methods Affect Sensitivity in Detecting Instructional Change Following Professional Development
  • Innovation Spaces are Just the Tip of the (Systems) Iceberg: Transforming Hidden Networks into Sustainable Practice

Session III (12:05 pm PT | 1:05 pm MT | 2:05 pm CT | 3:05 pm ET)

  • Balancing Theories of Change During Institution-Wide Transformation in Higher Education
  • Creating Culturally Responsive STEM Learning Environments through Community Building at an HSI
  • Measuring Teaching Practices to Inform Change in Online Undergraduate STEM Courses
  • Poster Session A

Session IV (12:40 pm PT | 1:40 pm MT | 2:40 pm CT | 3:40 pm ET)

  • Achieving Department Change through Theoretically-Guided Work with Department Heads: The DeLTA Project
  • Using Equity Data to Promote Change in Introductory Classrooms
  • Using Force Field Analysis to Advance STEM Education Reform
  • Poster Session B

Day 2 - Thursday, June 10 - Pathways

Session V (9:30 am PT | 10:30 am MT | 11:30 am CT | 12:30 pm ET)

  • A Theoretical Perspective on Sustaining an Education Change Initiative
  • Defining a T1 University
  • Walking the Walk of Complex Systems: Moving Beyond 'Doing Change' to Build Systemic Capacity
  • Organization-focused Networks as Levers for Change: A Research-Based Theoretical Framework to Conceptualize their Work

Session VI (10:05 am PT | 11:05 am MT | 12:05 pm CT | 1:05 pm ET)

  • Creating and Supporting Systemic Change: Scaffolding Undergraduate Research as a Vehicle for Equitable Transformation
  • The Role of Course-Based Communities of Transformation in Moving Toward Active Learning: What We Learned about Supporting Change During the Pivot to Online Learning
  • Connecting Project Principles and a Theory of Change to Practice: Departmental Action Teams
  • The Importance of Measuring Collaboration in Higher Education Reform Initiatives

Session VII (12:40 pm PT | 1:40 pm MT | 2:40 pm CT | 3:40 pm ET)

  • Achieving Sustained Change through Multi-Institutional Collaboration
  • Pooling Knowledge for Rapid Response: COVID-19 Prompted a Network of Research Universities to Share Best Practices for Assessing Student Learning Online
  • Driving Change by Building Faculty Leaders and Fostering Community College Partnerships
  • Poster Session C

Session VIII (1:10 pm PT | 2:10 pm MT | 3:10 pm CT | 4:10 pm ET)

  • Elevating Student Experience to Transform STEM Education
  • When Seeing is Believing: Generalizability and Decision Studies for Observational Data in Evaluation and Research on Teaching
  • Intentional Diversification of a Multi-institutional Community of Practice Network
  • Poster Session D

Day 3 - Friday, June 11 - Diversity, Equity, Inclusion

Session IX (10:20 am PT | 11:20 am MT | 12:20 pm CT | 1:20 pm ET)

  • Getting STEM FIT! STEM-Forum for Inclusive Teaching as a Model for Broad Dissemination of Evidence-Based Inclusive Teaching Practices
  • Science Education as Civic Education: The Future of STEM Learning
  • It's a START: Supporting Intergenerational Department Change Teams to Build Anti-Racist Courses and Curricula
  • University Systems in the Time of Punctuated Equilibrium: Understanding Adaptations to Rapid and Unpredictable Change

Session X (10:55 am PT | 11:55 am MT | 12:55 pm CT | 1:55 pm ET)

  • Networking STEM Initiatives to Enhance (NSITE) Adoption of Evidence-Based Practices
  • Translating Theory Into Practice for Widespread Change: The TRESTLE Initiative
  • STEM Education Center to STEM Equity Center: Meaningful Ways to Increase Inclusivity and Access
  • Unconference or Working Group Conversations

Session XI (11:30 am PT | 12:30 pm MT | 1:30 pm CT | 2:30 pm ET)

  • Mobile Summer Institutes: An Institution-Based Iteration of the Summer Institutes on Scientific Teaching that Targets Both Individual and Institutional Transformation
  • Transforming (Inter)Institutional STEM Infrastructures: Lessons from the SEISMIC Project on Designing for Equity and Inclusion at Scale
  • Self-Evaluation Tools for Centers: Making Key Contributions to Undergraduate STEM Education
  • Unconference or Working Group Conversations

Session XII (12:00 pm PT | 1:00 pm MT | 2:00 pm CT | 3:00 pm ET)

  • How Department Context and Institutional Factors Shape Undergraduate STEM Education Reform
  • The (STEM)2 Network: A Multi-Institution, Multidisciplinary Approach to Transforming Undergraduate STEM Education
  • Inclusive Excellence Meets Evidence-Based Instructional Practice: The Case of a Three-Pronged Approach Towards Changing Institutional Practice
  • Unconference or Working Group Conversations

      Next Page »