Transforming Institutions 2021 Virtual Conference

June 9-11, 2021 | Online

The Transforming Institutions 2021 Virtual Conference will be jointly hosted by the Accelerating Systemic Change Network (ASCN) and APLU's Network of STEM Education Centers (NSEC).

Transforming Institutions 2021 Virtual Conference Information

Conference Overview » View full program »

Important Dates:


Who is the Transforming Institutions Conference for?

The Transforming Institutions Conference is designed to bring together researchers, faculty, change agents, administrators, center staff and directors, and policymakers to focus on transforming undergraduate education. Participants will have the opportunity to identify critical questions facing institutional change, foster connections with colleagues interested in change, and address important topics related to transforming institutions of higher education.

What happens at the Transforming Institutions Conference?

Events will include presentations, panel discussions, poster sessions, and plenaries (see below). We are also pleased to feature a special panel session with representatives from funding agencies.

Learn more about the conference » View the full program »

Keynote Speaker:

PaulLeBlanc_circle.jpg Paul LeBlanc
President of Southern New Hampshire University (SNHU)

Pathways into Higher Education Panel:

Will Tyson Will Tyson
Associate Professor of Sociology, University of South Florida
YvesSalomonFernandez_circle.jpg Yves Salomon-Fernandez
President of Greenfield Community College

Foundation Funding Panel:

DaleWhittaker_circle.jpg Dale Whittaker
Senior Program Officer, Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation
DebraHumphreys_circle.jpg Debra Humphreys
Vice President of Strategic Engagement, Lumina Foundation
Lee Zia Lee Zia
Deputy Division Director, Division of Undergraduate Education, National Science Foundation
CelesteCarter_circle.jpg Celeste Carter
National Science Foundation Program Director
RyanKelsey_circle.jpg Moderator:Ryan Kelsey
Executive Director, Partnership Development, Markle Foundation

Conference Committee:

Andrea Beach, Western Michigan University
Charles Henderson, Western Michigan University
Scott Simkins, North Carolina A&T State University
Kadian Callahan, Kennesaw State University
Noah Finkelstein, University of Colorado at Boulder
Jaclyn Rivard, National Louis University

Kacy Redd, APLU
Rachel Renbarger, Western Michigan University
Cailin Huyck Orr, SERC, Carleton College
Mitchell Bender-Awalt, SERC, Carleton College
Bradlee Cotton, SERC, Carleton College
Ruthmae Sears, University of South Florida
Gabriela Weaver, University of Massachusetts - Amherst

Host Organizations:

ASCN (opens in a new tab) is a network of individuals and institutions, formed with the goal of more quickly advancing STEM education programs by closing the loop between researchers and change agents. ASCN has received funding from the Helmsley Charitable Trust and NSF IUSE #1726315.

NSEC (opens in a new tab) is a network of 200+ campus-based STEM education centers that serve as catalysts for educational transformation in STEM. NSEC is funded by a NSF IUSE #1524832 and the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities.

This material is based upon work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant No.s 1726315 & 1524832. Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.

      Next Page »