Promotion and Tenure: Continuing to Evolve University Systems of Academic Reward and Advancement

Tuesday, June 15

10 am - 12 pm PT | 11 am - 1 pm MT | 12 am - 2 pm CT | 1 pm - 3 pm ET

Julie Risien, Oregon State University
Emily Miller, Association of America Universities
Kacy Redd, Association of Public and Land-grant Universities
Ann Austin, Michigan State University

Workshop Description:

This session invites representatives from across disciplines, administrative roles and institution types to learn about recent and ongoing developments to reform the academic system of reward and advancement within and across institutions, disciplines, and scholarly practices. Facilitators will present a conceptual overview on the 21st Century academic workforce and the role of the reward system in realizing higher education's social contract with civic society. We will host an open discussion on ongoing scaled reform efforts. Small break out groups will have the opportunity to discuss 1) the merits and challenges of coordinating reform efforts and taking a systems level view on evolving incentives; and 2) envisioning what equitable and inclusive reward and advancement could look like in 2050.

Learning Objectives:

  1. Awareness of the current status of promotion and tenure system in the context of:
    a. Higher education's social contract with society
    b. The 21st Century academic workforce
    c. Multiple and evolving expressions of scholarship (e.g. open source tools products; innovation and entrepreneurialism; scientific/evidence-based instructional practice; engagement scholarship; inclusive mentoring practices, etc.)
  2. Ability to identify and find resources related to multiple concurrent reform efforts
  3. Collaborative growth in understanding of the rationale behind scaled reform (i.e. comprehensive systems level reforms that have impacts beyond individual institutions/domains/disciplines in higher education)
  4. Co-envisioning alternative inclusive reward and advancement systems