Track: Measuring Change


Help

Results 1 - 4 of 4 matches

Measuring Teaching Practices to Inform Change in Online Undergraduate STEM Courses
Regina Garza Mitchell, Western Michigan University; Whitney DeCamp, Western Michigan University; Brian Horvitz, Western Michigan University; Megan Kowalske, Western Michigan University; Cherrelle Singleton, Western Michigan University
Over many decades, education researchers and practitioners have developed validated instruments for studying traditional in-person classroom-based teaching practices. These instruments are not easily adaptable to ...

Conference Day: June 9, 2021
Time: 12:05pm PT / 1:05pm MT / 2:05pm CT / 3:12:05pm PT / 1:05pm MT / 2:05pm CT / 3:05pm ET
Session Type: Concurrent Session, Presentation

It depends how you slice it: How measurement and analysis methods affect sensitivity in detecting instructional change following professional development
Charles Hayward, University of Colorado at Boulder; Sandra Laursen, University of Colorado at Boulder; Tim Weston, University of Colorado at Boulder
To assess whether any change initiative has succeeded, it is important to be able to measure the resulting change. Our project draws on data from an established professional development initiative that has offered ...

Conference Day: June 9, 2021
Time: 11:30am PT / 12:30pm MT / 1:30pm CT / 2:11:30am PT / 12:30pm MT / 1:30pm CT / 2:30pm ET
Session Type: Concurrent Session, Presentation

Getting Beyond the Flawed Metrics of Student Evaluation Surveys
Josh Beach, 21st Century Literacy
Student evaluation surveys are not valid instruments for evaluating teaching, student learning, or the curriculum. For almost a century, researchers have found that not only are these tools highly correlated with ...

Conference Day: June 9, 2021
Time: 10:35am PT / 11:35am MT / 12:35pm CT / 1:10:35am PT / 11:35am MT / 12:35pm CT / 1:35pm ET
Session Type: Concurrent Session, Presentation

Using Force Field Analysis to Advance STEM Education Reform
Lucas Hill, University of Wisconsin-Madison; Mark Graham, Yale University; Judy Milton, University of Georgia
Organizational theorists and change practitioners have advanced many useful tools relevant to the evaluation of complex, often multi-institutional, higher education STEM reform initiatives. Evaluators often engage ...

Conference Day: June 9, 2021
Time: 12:40pm PT / 1:40pm MT / 2:40pm CT / 3:12:40pm PT / 1:40pm MT / 2:40pm CT / 3:40pm ET
Session Type: Concurrent Session, Presentation